Elephant Memory

I have been marathon-ing Criminal Minds. It is about a team of FBI Agents that use behavorial science to profile murders. I know that its overly simplifided way to catch a killer but it has some important parts we can take away from it.

The episode Elephant Memory  there is a teenage boy that kills a few people. Looking into his history you see that his mom died by a drunk driver, kids at school teased him, father abused him… And i think about how he must of felt. I think of my childhood and my reactions to what has happened to me.

We moved a lot. I never had many friends. I was odd. Too smart and cultured for the small towns we lived in. Kids aren’t nice to strangers and oddities. My father was gone working a lot. He was my hero but i was terrified of him. He was very dedicated and i was a wayward child. My mom was a pushover and we got away with murder…errr rule breaking. My siblings were many years younger then me and I rasied them more then saw them as friends.

Anyhow, I think I have turned out alright but I think about kids that get a less then positive upbringing. I worry about how our society is affecting the next generation. We look for friends we never meet. We look for acceptance from complete strangers. Our internet based lives dont always give the best mentors.

I am not sure what I am trying to say. Just that we need to be more considerate and compassionate to our peers, strangers, and family. Anyone else have any thoughts how to make our children be a better generation then we were?

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

