Rusalka

Watched the Czechoslovakian Opera, Rusalka, last night. I must say wow! It was very imaginative and moving. The lead was fabulous. Her voice carried so well. The set was perfect. They projected images on a screen in the back so you felt like you were under water or in the forest. It was an amazing production with only 19 actors.

In case you don’t know Rusalka is a tragedy version of little mermaid. She goes to her father and asks to be on land and he said she will only find misery. Rusalka goes to her Aunt and by giving up her riches and voice gains her wish to be human. One problem is if she can’t make her Prince love her Rusalka will be doomed to eternal misery. So she goes to her Prince and they have a short fling but he chases after another woman and Rusalka finds herself in the bottom of the ocean in misery. The Aunt said she will lift the curse but Rusalka must kill the Prince which Rusalka say she can’t do. Finally the Prince comes seeking his true love and dies in Rusalka’s arms.

It is a great Opera. With all that happens on stage you might have to see it twice. I will be going to more and I can’t wait!!! I believe Beauty and the Beast is playing next. Should be great!

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

