Tomorrow is Yesterday Part 3

Hey, got to go kayaking today. Was great! Didn’t get wet…well not too wet. I always dribble water on me.  Weather broke just after I got off work and gave us about an hour to get out in one of the small rivers. Gotta say though the water was very cold when you suck your hands into it. This is a picture of my trip. Has nothing to do with Part 3. Delivered as promised. Got sidetracked catching up on Blacklist. Love that show.

kayak.jpg
Paddling down Black River.

 

 

Tomorrow is Yesterday; Part 3

My mind was a million miles away. Dinner was cooking on the stove. The smell of cheese and spices filled my tiny apartment. Marra, my cat, threaded around my feet as I added ingredients to my concoction. I had Jack Johnson playing in the background. I had loved him since my childhood. My dream had always been to spend time in Florida or some tropical place and listening to Jack made me feel like I was on a beach with sand on my feet and ocean spray on my face. Regardless of the song I was always happy daydreaming about sun and surf. Marra got under my feet bringing my attention to the present to avoid tripping on her. Cursing under my breath I shooed her out of the kitchen. I hummed contently to myself as I pulled lasagna noodles out of boiling water. I slowly began to build my lasagna adding mounds of Rosetta, cheddar, and mozzarella cheese. I added tomato sauce, spiced ground beef, and a myriad of spices.  I ended up with a huge over stuffed pan that I struggled to set into the oven. As it baked, I made garlic bread and a salad with fresh strawberries and almonds. I loved to cook. I enjoyed making big meals but since it was just me, and sometimes Jen, I only made big meals once a week. I never minded eating leftovers. They were always so good.  Jen had been busy tonight but promised me she would help me with the leftovers tomorrow. For tonight, though, I was on my own.

Marra curled up on my lap and I used her as a dinner tray. We lay on the couch and watched the new episode of our favorite television show.  I was not much into reality shows. Normally my channel selection was between Animal Planet and TCM. Marra and I watched an episode of a nature show about underwater ecosystems. I was always fascinated about the ocean. I wished I had spent more time in the water swimming and snorkeling. Perhaps one day I told myself. At a decently late hour I went to bed and read a few chapters of the latest bestseller. Tonight my favorite pastime, reading, was not keeping me awake. I was emotionally drained from the day and wanted to slip back into my fog. Yawning I rolled over and dropped my book to the floor. Marra curled around my feet and purred sleepily.

My dreams troubled me. I saw images from my trouble past and I tried to run but like all dreams you always seem to run in mud. I could not get any speed and my past was catching up. This time there was a new person in the dream. I could not make him out. The shadows of my past clouded the person out. I tried to work toward the stranger.Then, suddenly in a bright light he was right in front of me.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

