Where is my happy place?

happy_place-4026

Wow what a busy week. I wonder where the time goes. It seems like I posted the day before yesterday and a week has gone by. Its bizarre. Over my two day weekend, which was mid-week, my roommate and I ran down to the Chanhassen Dinner Theater. We saw the Beauty and the Beast. It was wonderful. I have to say that the food was divine. I had Sirloin and my roommate had Prime Rib. We both enjoyed our dinner. We split two bottles of wine too. When we sat down there were two other couples at the table. One was middle aged and the other were very young. (probably early twenties) When we sat down they had to move their things off our chairs and it was a huge issue. There was much sighing and hostile looks. However, gratefully after the meal was finished they moved away. So we were left with the middle aged couple and got to chatting right away. It was like the wall was removed and we had a wonderful conversation with those two. It’s amazing how closed off personalities can really effect an atmosphere. The play itself was wonderful. It is my roommates favorite Disney movie so she sang along with all the songs. After the show, a little tipsy, we walked back to our hotel and enjoyed the hot tub and pool.

I was thinking about the “wet blanket” couple today at work. I walked into a mad house when I got to work this afternoon. One of our senior co-workers tried to get out of a project saying he didn’t know how to do it. Well, neither did I. When I told him I didn’t know what needed to be done he went and complained that he was stuck with the issue because no one knew how to do it. For crying out loud! If I was handed the project I would of asked for help and then done it. I wouldn’t throw my co-workers under the bus because they didn’t know any more than I did. That kind of stuff really burns my cookies. Then a few minutes later a person called said that she received a phone call from a “Middle Eastern” person and we should know. Our society is so ridiculous. About sixty years ago we would be getting the same call about a “black” person. Makes me so frustrated knowing how closed minded we are sometimes. Of course, I am not putting myself above anyone. I have my own short comings.

After a rather intense beginning half of my shift, I am contemplating taking up yoga or meditation to make myself more calm and less affected by the issues around me. Wish me luck. One thing I do to help find a moment of peace is to recite poems. Rudyard Kipling has one that speaks volumes to me.

 Rudyard Kipling;    If–

If you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you;
If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
But make allowance for their doubting too:
If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
Or, being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
Or being hated don’t give way to hating,
And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise;

If you can dream—and not make dreams your master;
If you can think—and not make thoughts your aim,
If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
And treat those two impostors just the same:.
If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
And stoop and build ’em up with worn-out tools;

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
And lose, and start again at your beginnings,
And never breathe a word about your loss:
If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
To serve your turn long after they are gone,
And so hold on when there is nothing in you
Except the Will which says to them: “Hold on!”

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
Or walk with Kings—nor lose the common touch,
If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
If all men count with you, but none too much:
If you can fill the unforgiving minute
With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
 And—which is more—you’ll be a Man, my son!     

 

 

P.S. I am working on Granddaughter of the Year Award. I have visited both my grandmothers in the last few weeks and taken them out do dinner. Go Me! LOL

P.P.S. Happy Mother’s day to all the mothers in the world! Thank you for dealing with us, your children.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

