Tomorrow is Yesterday Part 4

Gonna head out to the lake then wing night! But didn’t want to leave you hanging.

castiel.jpg

“Do you want the past to change?” The directness of the question sounded odd to me. Do I want the past to change? Of course I do. Doesn’t everyone want the past to change? But you couldn’t change the past. I nodded to the stranger.

“Yes, I want the past to change…” I was dreaming after all no point in pretending. I smiled at the stranger. He nodded and motioned to a door that I never noticed before. The stranger pointed at the door and I moved toward it.

“You will find yourself ten years earlier with all of the knowledge you have now.” I nodded somewhat bemused. What about paradoxes? I knew that if I were to meet myself in the past that the world would end or something like that. Right? This could not be real. The stranger just smiled and motioned toward the door. My brow knitted in concern. I knew something wasn’t right but with sudden urgency I rushed through the door.

*****

I found myself at my parents home, ten years earlier. I was standing frozen in the middle of the dinning room amazed at what I saw. The downstairs was still the color I had painted it. Five years ago, in real time, my mother had painted over my hard work. It was dark outside but I could hear the silence. I had always thought the silence was loud in the country. I had lived in the city so long that the lack of car horns, dogs barking, and neighbors over loud televisions made me notice the silence more. I scanned the old furniture and felt my world tilt. I could not believe that it was really ten years earlier then it was this morning. It was a weird feeling that I could not fully wrap my head around but my mind was on different things. I was trying to figure out what the date was and what I was doing ten years ago.

“Happy New Years dear!” I startled at my mother’s voice. I turned to see her coming out bedroom that was tucked back and out of the way behind the kitchen.  I smiled and walked in to the kitchen. I walked straight for the refrigerator and rummaged through the shelves like I always did when I did not know what to do. My mother put a few dishes away and grabbed a mixing bowl.

“I am making cookies. You wanna help until Tom gets here?” My face must have gone white because she stopped gathering supplies for cookies. Tom, I always hated the shorten name, I always called him Thomas. My blood raced making my ears throb. I forgot about Thomas my ex-husband. I had married him right out of high school. Mistake number one. As headlights from outside caught my attention memories flooded in to focus making be dizzy.

“Bitch, come back here!” he yelled. His strong fingers bit into my flesh as I tried to run away. He laughed as he threw me down. Silent tears fell down my cheeks as Thomas forced himself…

Hate and anger flooded though me. I had spent ten years trying forgetting about him and his bruises that never faded from my heart. I had never been a violent person but today might be a good time to start. I vaguely knew my mother was starting at my back. No one ever knew he was abusive. I never told a soul I just left one day and never came back. I did a quick calculation of the date and what we were doing in our relationship. New years, my mother had said. It was New Year’s Day ten years earlier.  Wow! I thought, it’s six months before we get married. Just before things got really bad. Ohhhh! My thoughts were only seconds long. The car had stopped in front of the house and I just heard the door slam. He was coming.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

