Frozen Summer

snow surf

Oh Lordy, where does the time go? I have been in training the last week. It seems extremely slow paced but at least we have fun instructors. I tend to be a little more fast paced in all my trainings. Then I get bored which leads to trouble. I was talking to one of my co-workers who came from the same previous job. We are used to the “sink or swim” mentality of our old jobs. Do this! But I don’t know how. Get it done. Oookkaayyy. I realized that we are, not necessarily more confident but willing to attempt the exercise. Today we were learning how to move the boom arm on a million dollar piece of equipment. No one would volunteer to go first and practice the controls. I am fairly secure in thinking that there is nothing I can do that can’t be fixed. (Might be a fools thought) So going first and having to wait for everyone else to try leaves me a lot of free time. AKA trouble time. I am lucky that my instructors are very understanding and engaging. One of the instructors is from my old line of work so he is used to “kicking the chicks out of the nest.” No hard feelings from me. It takes a lot to offend me and I deal with issues myself instead of running to mommy and telling.

It is freezing cold out. It snowed last night. Can someone please remind me what month it is? Swear it is March. However, its Walleye opener this weekend so everyone is trying to get out to the lake. I am all set with my kayak and fishing set up. My roommate got us lifejackets so we don’t drown. Of course, our favorite lake is only 7 feet deep in the middle. I am sure all the fish are like 3 inches long but what does it matter. I don’t eat fish anyways. Just like giving them some fresh air. Har!Har!

So my brother, 23, just graduated from college. Math major with honors! I was the proudest big sister even though I could not be there. –Until I heard something. Let me give you some background. My brother still lives at home. He doesn’t pay rent, food, car insurance (on my mom’s car that he drives), etc. While he does have a job that pays a ridiculous amount for entry level he says he doesn’t have time to help with the house work. They live on 50 acre horse ranch. So after my father passed my mom has been doing everything on her own. She keeps everything up the best she can. My brother is the baby and mother doesn’t want to be firm with him in case he leaves. Well long story short this is what my mom told me he said. For a graduation present we (mom, sister, and I) got him a new GoPro system and a PlayStation 4. My brother said he had no interest in the GoPro and the PlayStation doesn’t play old games so what good is it?! If I was home I would have slapped him. Instead I cried. I knew how much it must of hurt her. How much it cost her (she doesn’t work). How much she wishes dad was here…. I just don’t know what to do. My bother has no respect for me or my advice. He has completely changed after my dad’s death; self-centered. If you can give me suggestions I would welcome them. I wish I could go down there but with the summer busy season I can’t leave. I have booked flights in September and in October I am taking my mom to Brazil. I just hope it’s not too little too late so show my mom that she is still appreciated.

Anyhow just a little catch up on how my week is going. Hope everyone has a warm wonderful weekend!

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

