Tomorrow is Yesterday 8

plane.jpg

Michael stood somewhat awestruck in front of me. I knew he did not believe a word and probably thought I was crazy now. Maybe he was right; maybe I was crazy. I looked up at his beautiful green eyes and wanted to cry. Instead I smiled and reached up to place my hand on his cheek. I leaned in and kissed his cheek and whispered in his ear.

“The sex was awesome!” I whispered. I smiled as I withdrew. As I turned to leave I handed him a picture. The picture was of us on a beach in Hawaii. It was taken six months before we broke up. It was one of my favorites. On the back was written in his mother’s hand “Michael and Jessica, Sunset Beach, Hawaii.” I walked back to my car feeling tired. I felt like I had run a race. I was almost to my car when I remembered a warning I meant to give him.

“Oh hey, when you move out take Rascal with you. She’ll go crazy mad if you leave her behind.” Rascal was Michael’s dog. She was a wonderful Pit Bull. I loved her dearly but when Michael and I moved into an apartment we could not take her. She went a little crazy not having Michael around to play with. She ended up attacking another dog and because she was a Pit Bull they put her down. It broke Michael’s heart. I smiled at the wonderful memories that only I would have of s and with a last glance I got in the car and drove away.

****

I had promised my mother that I would stay on top of my schoolwork. I promised her that I would be back in May. Then I would go to college in the fall at the local community college. These were all part of my plan and I knew they were promises I could keep. I stared out the window of the plane as we crossed over the Appalachian Mountains. I was excited. I haven’t been to Texas in years. My grandparents lived in south Texas. We used to visit but then stopped the more my dad traveled. We stopped doing a lot of things once my dad started working more, I thought sadly. I sighed and let the drone of the engines lull me to sleep. Little did I know as I slept Fate was playing with my plans. Fate was twisting things just ever so slightly.

Michael was curious about my speech and the picture I left him. He, for reasons beyond his own, did not believe I was crazy. He actually believed me and wanted to know what actually happened. On one hand Michael was grateful for me trying to be noble and spare him the trouble I told him I would cause. On the other hand he knew I was someone he loved or would have loved. In the picture that I had left with him he knew that he loved me and I, him. Michael wanted to find out why.

“Is Jessica there?” Michael asked.

“No she is not? Who is this? Are you one of her lessons?” My mother’s voice was polite and wondering. She knew I had notified all my students that I would not be at the stables for a few months. The statement from my mother confused Michael. He knew very little about me. He had spent two weeks trying to figure out how I was. It was a by chance that he found me, or my number at least. I was home schooled so I did not have many friends in the city but of the few I did who would guess they would run into Michael but one day while sitting at outside of the public high school the most interesting thing happened.

            “Whatcha got there, Mikey?” Sam asked. He was one of my closest friends.

            “Oh, Nothing just a picture.” He showed Sam the picture and Sam’s eyes grew big.

            “Since when did you and Jessica go together?” Sam asked incredulously.

            “What! You know her? No, we aren’t going together.” Michael replied excitedly. He questioned Sam about me and for my number. Sam was very forth coming with some of the information on me but did not tell Michael that I had left.

“Ummm… No my cousin is a student…ah is she in?” Michael stumbled. He should of asked Sam for more information. Michael was very nervous to talk to me but he wanted to know what happened.

“No she left with her father for Texas. I am sorry I thought she told everyone she was leaving and would be back in May.” My mother replied.

“Oh… my cousin did not tell me…well… ah… thank you.” Michael stammered still unsettled about the whole situation. So I would not be back until May. He would wait.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

