Tomorrow is Yesterday 9

Gosh we got to be getting close to the end right? LOL

 

texas-wildfire_gi_top

The plane landed hard and quickly taxied to the gate. I was stiff from sleeping sitting up. I got up and followed my dad out down the narrow isle of the plane. I dragged my feet as we made it toward the baggage claim. I gathered my two suitcases full of my meager possessions. Almost everything else I had given a way. My sister had wonderful time going through my giveaways and doubled her wardrobe. She now needed my old room to have room for her new treasures. Goodwill also was very appreciative to my donations.

My father’s company had rented us a two-bedroom apartment that was close to his work and the airport. The area also provided great cliental for grocery stores and other shops. This was perfect for me I would be able to walk to any store that I needed. I spent a few days looking for work at these stores but there was not much work for a horse trainer. About two weeks after moving to Dallas I went back to the apartment somewhat dejected after a rather long day of trying to find work. Walking up the stairs toward my apartment I ran into my neighbor. Mrs. Kathryn was our only neighbor. The way the apartment building was designed each floor had two units. This way the only walls that were common were the kitchen walls. It was the best way to keep from annoying the neighbors. She was a sweet middle-age single mom. She worked at the hospital as a med tech. I liked her and she had always been kind to me so I baby-sat for her on occasion. I would spend some time helping her with the kids homework and making dinner while my dad spend long hours at work.  I saw her just above me on the landing carrying groceries.

“Hello Mrs. Kathryn,” I called politely. She turned to look at who called her. I could tell immediately that something was wrong. Her eyes were puffy and her face was drawn with worry.

“Oh. What’s wrong?” I said rushing to her side.

“Its nothing…” She sobbed and broke down. I grabbed the bags of groceries and helped her to her door. She mumbled thanks and let me into her apartment. I carried her purchases to the kitchen. I began to take the items out and place them on the counter.

“Please tell me Mrs. Kathryn. I will help if I can.” I let her open up on her own. I fumbled through the kitchen and put the items away. Mrs. Kathryn, in a trance, helped me put things away. She seemed comforted by the menial task of putting things away. I slowly watch the tension release.

“Thank you Jessica. You are such a sweet girl. If I didn’t know better I’d say you were a grandmother. Your patience reminds me of my grandmother. She was so kind.” After a moment she continued. “I just found out that I am getting a different shift and there is not daycare that late. I do not know what to do…”She trailed off looking like she would start crying again. I knew that the stress must be immense to be a single mom in Dallas or anywhere for that matter.

“Well that’s kind of perfect actually. I have spent all week looking for a job that will work around my school schedule. How ‘bout I baby-sit for you?” I was excited that I could possibly have an income. I knew things were fitting into place. I knew this was exactly what I had been waiting for. I had baby-sat the children a few times on the weekends to give Mrs. Kathryn time to run errands. The children were wonderful. I would be hard pressed to find another five and seven year old who was as well behaved.

“Really? I never thought about that. That… well that would be perfect. But, of course, I would have to talk to your dad. That would be perfect. Oh! Jessica you are a Godsend. What would I do with out you?” Mrs. Kathryn immediately livened up. She began busying herself to make dinner, as the children would be home from school soon. I reminded her that I was leaving in May and this was only short-term fix. She assured me that this would give her time to find the right alternative.

 

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

