Weekend Camping

itasca2.JPG

Well sorry I have been quiet again. But I have a good reason. I was out camping in the Headwaters of the Mississippi river! We kayaked Itasca Lake with is where the Mississippi stems from. Then we played around in the river. It is a very humble beginning for a river. Water only knee deep and only a few steps wide. It is hard to imagine that this little stream become one of the most prominent rivers in the United States. It has carried life for a fifth of the states. The Mighty Mississippi is justly called. Its minute beginnings is an encouragement to us all. We all start somewhere. With baby steps. Over time with the right encouragements, tributaries, you can touch lives of many. I hope that we call can become so great. You can see the webcam of the river here.

So when I booked for this camping trip, on Google I saw a lake that I wanted to camp at. It was called Rice Lake… on Google. Well when I called to make a reservation—yes you can make a reservation for a camp site. Yes, I agree that’s silly. But I digress. After making a wrong reservation and the next day frantically trying to change it to something that was correct. The lake that I knew we could camp at was Itasca. I thought it would be fun to kayak there. So with some research on the internet I saw some camp sites that looked ok. However, but a black and white line drawing is hard to go by. I called to change things around  the few sites that I wanted were already reserved. So I was left with a site I really didn’t look up.  I guessed it would be ok since we would be out kayaking and fishing etc. The week or so before the weekend we were leaving I was watching the weather and praying to whoever would listen that the weather would be nice. About 3 days before we were to leave there were tornados and heavy rain over the whole state. I was hoping that it would blow through and would be gone.

kayaks.JPG

Day of the trip was partly sunny. The drive was easy going and fairly uneventful. The only hiccup was that the firewood providers in the area were not at the addresses I pulled off the campsite website. I was so frustrated. I was worried that firewood at the campsite would be super expensive. I was frustrated that the state was so strict about where firewood would come. I completely understand what they are trying to do but come on! The address that I wrote down for the park would not pull up in my GPS so we had to do it old school. PAPER MAPS!!! Yes I still carry them. It is crazy how far off the beaten path the park is. I would felt we were leaving civilization, which is good. We finally make it to the Main Forest Road. It was beautiful. The registration was easy and the firewood wasn’t too expensive. The drive to the actual site was way back in the woods. Last row, backed up to the woods. It was perfect. Parked my truck and was able to set up without issue. Drove around and explored. Made dinner on the grill and s’mores on the fire. Drank a lot.

Breakfast was made over the fire and was fabulous. It was windy but we kayaked the East Arm and fished a little bit. Coming back in was tough against the wind. I actually had waves breaking over my bow. We might of grown some muscles and got some awesome weird tan lines. The wind was up and the sun was out we tried to take a nap but it didn’t work. In the afternoon we went back to the river to take evening pictures but saw the lake was as smooth as glass. We went for a evening paddle and was beautiful kayaking as the stars came out. itasca.JPG

The next day was still windy and sore from the prior day and sleeping on the ground we decided to explore by vehicle. Around midday we headed back home. We stopped at Wal-Mart because it’s the only one in 100 miles. We found a little gem of a restaurant about 30 minutes from camp. Very fancy food with big words that tasted oh so yummy! Got home to water standing in the yard and branches down all over. Guess it was a good weekend to get away.

 

Another part of Tomorrow is Yesterday to come soon!

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

