Magical Weekend

lion king.jpg

 

So after working over two weeks straight, (why do I do that to myself) I finally had a couple of days off. On my first day off, Friday, I took the time to do all the house cleaning that I have been putting off. Made food and spent the day slowly. Not rushing; not on the clock. It was lovely. Saturday, I worked another overtime shift. Work was busy and the time went by quick. That night I packed and prepped my kitties for being away overnight. Sunday morning we got up fairly early to start the drive to the big city. My roommate had worked until 2am and I volunteered to drive the 1st leg of the trip. It was raining and dull. I listened to the audiobook of 2001: A space odyssey. It was a wonderful diversion. After a short nap my roommate took over the wheel and we drove around one of the largest lakes in the state. My mother happened to call at that point and after telling her where we were she had an interesting local lore tidbit. My grandfather’s Uncles and Aunts died on that lake. I was a little awestruck and thanked her for such an interesting snippet.  Slowly we continued our drive that was only slightly delayed by construction. Our hotel boasts the largest water park in the area. However, there was no pool for guests unless you paid for the water park. Our room was lovely and large. After a few moments of relaxation we prepared for a night of fun. We had tickets to Disney’s the Lion King with off Broadway cast. I was super excited. Before the show, dinner was planned at an Indian place not far from the theater. The food was amazing; full of flavor and new tastes. We walked two blocks to the theater and took our seats just before the show started. And WOW. That’s all I can really say. The opening scene just like the movie was grand. All the animals of the plains coming to acknowledge the birth of the future king. The voices of the actors were beyond my expectations. The costumes just…. WOW. An elephant came down the aisle, one person in each leg. Giraffes were walking around on their stilt like legs. Zebras and antelope pranced over the stage in magical flight. It was amazing. The actors played their characters with grace and knowledge. It was the best show I have seen. Afterward we wondered over to a British inspired pub with a bowling green on the roof. We threw back a couple of pints and watched a band encourage drunken movement from the crowd. It was fabulous. A wonderful evening full of fine dresses, lovely food/drink, and magical moments. A perfect evening. The next day, Monday, a quick tour of the mall and a better stocked liquor store then at home, we made our way home, and back to the daily grind.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

