Daily Prompt: Slowly

snail

Today’s prompt was slowly. As it would work out it is a perfect word for today; in so many ways.

Slow is how my day started. Not totally because I was groggy and sluggish but also because I had prepared time for my mornings to start slowly. Breakfast, a peach and hardboiled egg, on the porch watching the sun slowly break the tree line. I took time to enjoy my slices of peach and the dryness of the yoke. My outdoor mouse eliminator slowly stretched and snoozed under my chair. Surly tired out from a night of slowly stocking any creature worthy of sacrificial offering on my walkway. A soft breeze meandered around tickling leaves and grass stocks. The moment made me never want to leave but the day was calling and I withdrew to complete my morning tasks before my commute to work. Preparing to leave, my roommate came upstairs to grab the breakfast I had prepared a few minutes before. She, in a constant panic, grabbed and tossed and rushed in a mad hurry to get out of the door on time. She was crisis to my tranquility. I waited, impatience starting, while in her struggle to get her day started she was already running late. Coming down the stairs toward the garage she is a mess on feet. I had waited so that I could close up behind her. Now more flustered she jetted out of the stall and down the road. I slowly closed up the garage and started my truck. I plugged in my iPod and set a book to play. I was transported into a different galaxy I set cruise control and made my way towards my work. A Buddhist monk would be proud of my thoughtfulness in each step I took. Watching where I set my feet and how I move; putting thought into each movement. It slowed down my world. Made me think of the things that upset me and set me spinning was not as important.  My walk from car to office was relaxed and as the day slowly moves towards noon and evening, I try to keep this slow tranquil mind. I try to take my time and do everything with purpose. It is tiring. It is so much easier to go off without thought and be frantic and a mess. However, it leads to a much more cluttered mind.  A much more cluttered life. It is better to live slow. Stop and smell the flowers or at very least revel in the patience they have waiting for a solitary bee to come and sample the nectar.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

