Fictional Loves

book.jpg

So passing the time on a midnight shift I was reading the latest book by my favorite authors. (Crimson Tide by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child) I was fully involved with the book and ignored comments and sneers from my non-reading coworkers. This series is about 20 books strong and is the first book I recommend to my non-reading friends because it is so well written. It is eloquent and suspenseful. The story truly makes me want to know more about the world around me. Also their detail to natural history is fascinating. They touch on subjects I faintly know and then have to research more. The book challenges my vocabulary and understanding of human nature. I equate them to the late Michael Crichton. The research Mr. Crichton puts into his books is greatly lacking in the world today. So many people used general information to support their stories. Crichton uses facts and incorporates them into his works of beautiful fiction…but I digress.

A meme popped up that completely summed up how I feel about my fictional characters. In a book you, generally, don’t have an image to correlate with the person. We might have some description given to us by the author but the gaps we fill in. So instead of falling in love with someone we see, we instead fall in love with their words. We fall for their actions and most intimate thoughts and dreams. We fall in love with someone that is only black and white type. I asked my grandmother, once long ago, how she decided to marry my grandfather. She told me she fell in love with his letters. He was away in the Navy and wrote to her. I remember, I was a young teenager then, how much that made sense to me. I understand that you could fall in love with someone’s written word because I had fallen for many fictional characters even at that tender age.

Now with the advent of technology, we write to each other every moment of the day. And lose the most important element of the written word. The anticipation, the longing, to read another word. There is no break in text messages. They come, sometimes one word at a time, quickly, rapid fire to fill our inboxes. There tends to be no real thought behind the message. “food?” “Yes plz” “k” Some of the words are abbreviated and construed to mean almost anything. Yes I know there are times when a text message comes in and is meaningful and well thought out but it’s not often. With the ability to message every and any thought or whim not much is put behind the message other than pressing send.

I know I am not the only one who wished they could have a meaningful written relationship. Is there a way we could revive that? Is there a way we fall in love with the written word again?

Sorry for my ramblings. I am sleep deprived and was interrupted in this short post three times. J Have a great week. I am going camping tonight and will post pictures asap.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

