A weekend with a teenager

rollercoaster.jpg

Where does the time go? I swear I wrote a post just the other day.

I spent the last 4 days with a fifteen year old (going on 30) young lady; and I must say that it was eye opening. A little bit of background, she is my adopted sister. As in, I adopted this family when I was living in Washington (no the state) and was about 3000 miles from my family. Sometimes you just need someone to mother you or a sister to pick on. I have been close with this family for many years and I told my not-sister that I would fly her to Minnesota as a birthday present. We spent 4 days at the Mall of America, Valley Fair, Como Zoo, Lion King, etc. It was a lot of fun and very tiring. I feel like I haven’t slept in days but that is more due to my insomnia than anything else. It was interesting to study her motives and actions. I was raised in an intact home where we traveled as a family a lot. My father also who traveled for work often would bring home trifles for us. My not-sister, while she lives with her biological parents, has half siblings as well. They are hard working parents, however, though they are in the lower end of the income bracket. Not that means much but it does play a part of the economical psyche of family dynamics. I watched her pick out clothes that she felt was appropriate. Her choices in modesty was fine however, her thought on what was affordable was proof of a child given a large amount of money. While she earned some of it there was not much value placed on it. Easy come, easy go as they say. Also there was no thought for her family, who let this teenage fly by herself across halfthe country. Perhaps it is my training to think of the others in my life that leads me to purchase gifts for others. I saw something that was perfect for my roommate. So I purchased it for her. It seemed to me that there was no thought for my not-sister’s family. I didn’t say anything but it was curious to me. I talked to her mother about this and she said that it was probably because they never get anyone gifts when they travel; as little as they do. Mostly it is a financial issue, as in there isn’t enough to buy for themselves and others. In a teenager’s life Me is the most important. I also was interested to see her consideration for my feelings or desires. There was none. If she wanted to do something that is what we did. I did cater to her some but there was no tit for tat. There was no compromise or thought for my desires. I only mentioned a few but it would have been nice to do some things that interested me as well. I realize she is a little shy but we are family and she has never been shy before. I also understand my likes and dislikes are very more broad then most 15 yr. olds. Still it was wonderful to be pulled out of my controlled world and moved toward the desires of others. Perhaps, I have been alone in my little sheltered world too long. It is always interesting to see the different in children’s thought patterns.

Well now I have 7 days of work ahead of me. I feel a little under the weather. My roommate has been gone for the last week or so. Leaves me with three very attention deprived cats. The weather is humid and hot which makes the nights unbearable. I have a 6 week break before my next trip and I am looking forward to not going anywhere!

Have a most fantastic week!

P.S. Has anyone been to Morocco? I think that will be my next solo trip. Any suggestions?

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

