Daily Prompt: Reach

reach.jpg

I swear time is sneaking around me. I never see it slip by. What’s that song? “Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, into the future…” Is that really where it goes? It is so hard to tell. I have been thinking of a post or what to post. I saw today’s Daily Prompt of Reach. I realize that is what I have been doing. Reaching… for a lot of things.

I have been reaching out to my mom a lot lately. It is very close to her birthday, anniversary, and my dad’s birthday isn’t too far off. I worry overly and probably unduly but I know that she is alone. My dad’s passing has hurt us all and left us all with a huge void. One we must reach across to manage day by day. For my mom that is so much bigger reach. Recently she has had a hard time making that reach. She has been complaining about losing weight and that is a big deal when you only weigh 100lbs. I have been sending her recipes and ideas for great food. She has never been imaginative with her food and in turn nor am I. So I know that sending her these little recipes ideas help. I also know that my brother is working on starting his life. He graduated college this year and has been slowly looking for career ideas. Sounds like things are moving forward but it would mean that he would finally move out of my mom’s house. Leaving her to deal with a farm completely alone.

I have been trying to reach out to my grandparents. All of whom are near or over 90 years. I try to keep in touch and tell them they are still loved even though I live so far away and can’t see them often. I make an effort to contact them and send them little trifles. My mom’s mom can write a great text let me text you! I hope to see them again before the year is up. My dad’s mom (last alive on my dad’s side) is a little off kilter but I manage to take her to breakfast or visit with her when I go to the big city.

I have also been trying to reach the next level in my career. I want so badly to move overseas with my department. It is totally a hurry up and wait—typical government. I am trying to take my time and learn what I can now. I am trying to network with other officers that have been where I want to go. That is a lot harder then it seems. I know there are some trainings that would help my chances but I can’t be spared during busy summer months. This winter I might have planned a bunch of things. Silly me.

I am trying to reach the me that I want to be. A kind and long suffering person that is knowledgeable not only about my job but also human nature. I hope to be a loving person that is willing to help my fellow man and make this world a better place. That of course is the hardest part. I can’t stand people. LOL. I am sure its because I see a lot of knuckle heads all day while I am at work.

🙂

 

via Daily Prompt: Reach

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

