Planning Ahead

camels.jpg

I know it has been a little while since I have written. However, working 18 out of 19 days tends to limit your brain’s ability to come up with relevant ideas. I had started a post two different times only to feel dejected and delete them. It has been a long month but it keeps the lights on, as a good friend used say.

I spent the first half of my shift coming up with leave I want to take over the next fiscal year. Do you know how hard it is to plan that far ahead? To dedicate yourself 3 or 6 or 9 months from now takes some skill. I put in for 256 hours of leave hoping that I can get at least 168 of them approved. That’s a lot of going places. It is my favorite thing. Traveling, that is. I want to see every corner of the world.

My big trip next year, I hope, is Morocco. As long as work doesn’t solicit for a training that I want and need during April, I am going to Morocco. I am so excited. I have been researching the area for the last four months. I know where I want to go and what sites I want to see. I am going to ride a camel and thinking about trying a public bath house. It will be such a huge cultural lesson for me. I am also excited because Morocco is Muslim. I know with all the worry about Muslims and Islam that I need to gather more information to make a decision on how I feel about the people, culture, and religion.

I know that I will be required to cover my head. I have already bought a traditional hijab or head covering. If they came into my church or were attempting to understand my culture and traditions they would be required to do, perhaps to them, odd actions. I find it not to be insulting to my faith to respect theirs.  Sometimes it is difficult to humble yourself enough to see through another’s eyes.

I also planned trips to see my family here in the states. My mother will be so pleased. I also have given some wiggle room to allow for plays, symphonies, and operas. I hope to catch the Nutcracker this year and perhaps something else later next year. Also would enjoy seeing a Wild Hockey game or two.

Much fun. All preplanned. But room for spontaneity. Just the way I like it.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

