Do not go Gentle

night.jpgSo after what seem like a very long wait my mother’s birthday has finally arrived. Last night I Skyped in and watch her open her presents. We, my sister, brother, and I, had gotten her a telescope. I had spent a lot of time researching it and figuring out what was best. No input or help came from my sibling but that’s fine. I was delighted to hear my mom’s squeals of excitement come through the speakers as I tried to watch. My sister, it would seem, doesn’t have very steady hands.

 It has been a difficult few years without my father. The lack of his presence is a huge void in our lives. I know I miss him every day and can only imagine the depth that my mom feels. Their anniversary is this month too and October is my dad’s birthday. I try to distract her the best I can but I know in the dark of night the pain creeps in. I hope she will be able to spend time viewing the stars and the heavens with a feeling of closeness to him. Perhaps a moment of peace. It is my hope at least. The other night I was watching a movie that quoted a Dylan Thomas poem or more correctly a villanelle.

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

 

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

