Epiphanies

quote

Many years ago I remember seeing a commercial on TV who’s subject I don’t remember only thing I remember was the word epiphany. I am sure the commercial said something about using big words that no one knows such as epiphany. So my teenage self looked the word up and found that it is a very profound word; for ideas that you receive. But it is more than an idea. It is a life changing idea. Perhaps for good; perhaps for bad but never the less faith shaking. These events tend to happen in the most mundane of times, when you least expect them.

 I had a minor one the other day while having my lunch. A salad of baby greens with cranberries, pumpkin seeds, raspberry vinaigrette. It was very yummy I guess I should forget to make lunch more often. However, I was sitting in the lunch room at work by myself and half listening to my coworkers comment about the last people that were in the lobby. They were half playing and half making fun. I immediately got annoyed and then it hit me. A minor epiphany. I miss talking to intelligent people. Now don’t get me wrong there are many intelligent people I work with. I find intelligence in more than book smarts. I will be the first person to admit my naiveté. I have enough knowledge about a few things that get me by. I have a few coworkers I love talking to because the conversation helps me grow. And that’s how it should be.

 I realize I can’t expect engaging and thought provoking conversations all the time. However, I don’t think I am so far gone to think having a good conversation sometime during the day is too much to ask. What are we doing if we don’t attempt to grow ourselves each and every day. In an effort to grow even a little bit I have decided to continue my memorization of passages that influence me. I find during the process of memorization I get more out of the passage. The words have more meaning and are felt stronger. Another bonus to memorization is the calming that comes from focusing on a task. Even if it is only in my mind. It helps me find peace in a stressful situation. When my mind is in turmoil I can recite past passages and find comfort and a small distraction. I am sure that we all have our owe techniques for finding inner peace but if nothing is working I recommend trying memorizing something that inspires you.

 

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

