More Travels

time.jpgI am flying away again this weekend. I will have been home a total of 13 days, 11 of which I worked. The first few days back was catching up on chores and visiting my roommate in the hospital. I also found time to clean house, prepare things outside for winter, frame two small canvas paintings, and bring up winter clothes out of storage. Seems like a lot but I still made time to hang out with my kitties. They sorely missed me. To the point they won’t leave my side. I watched season two of Doctor Who. I started the series because everyone I know are Whovians. I wanted to see what it was about. I have to say I am enjoying it but not 100% sure it should have such a cult following like it does.

On Friday, I am flying to go see my maternal grandparents. My mom can’t go on her own because she cannot deal with them. I have a better relationship with my grandparents because they were always been positive in my life. I can totally see how if I was raised by them I might have problems with their quirks. They were born in the 1920s so I try to imagine what life was like then and through the years to now. It boggles the mind. I find it fascinating and interesting. I spend most of my time asking questions and being nosey. My mom on the other hand takes everything personal. Everything they say is a slight against her. Like they are trying to be mean when, I know they really aren’t. They are just very opinionated.  The first time I saw my grandfather after a long, couple year, break he said “Wow you got big!” It was a hurtful statement and very cutting as I had gained weight after my father died and was still in the process of losing it. But instead of taking it poorly I said, “Grandpa that is what happens when you know how to cook!” We laughed and moved on. While my grandmother apologized for his comment I told her it was fine. That he doesn’t realize the truth hurts. Besides if you are 94 you get to say whatever you want.

My mom has always said that I can handle people and situations better than her. I don’t always agree because I know I often freeze instead of giving the comeback I want to or stopping issues the moment they start. Perhaps that means I don’t say things I will regret later maybe it means I have more practice fixing then. I know my mom gets very aggressive when she is outside of her comfort zone. She much rather be on the farm doing chores then dealing with elderly people who aren’t the nicest. I guess we will see how this weekend goes. It is getting more complicated because my Aunt wanted to tag along so she will pick us up at the airport and we will surprise the Grandfolk. I hope it isn’t too much of a shock. 🙂

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

