Better Definitions

universe.jpg

I fell asleep with the phase Faith vs. Evil in my mind. It was such a powerful thought that I retained it the next morning. I have been mulling over the idea the last few days trying to decide what my sleepy mind was imagining. I know that the descriptors “good” and “bad” are not adequate to describe the world. Many good things happen for bad reasons and many bad things happen for good reasons. I think better ideas of good could be; kindness, charity, hospitality. A hope, a faith, that people will act in a way that benefits more than themselves. While bad could be described in hundreds of different ways, it tends to be antonyms to kindness and hospitality.  Bad, along with good, is completely subjective to our point of view. What might be bad for one isn’t bad for someone else.  Because of that, I reject those terms to come up with my own. Faith and Evil.

Faith can be described as: the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. Regardless of the origin of this description I have found it stands true.  This definition is unique in that just because you hope for one thing doesn’t mean the invisible forces grant that. You might end up with a different outcome then you imagined. I might hope for no gravity but it still brings me to the ground. That pain changes the substance of things I hope for. I am drawn to the last part of this quote. Evidence of things not seen. Faith often shows up without us seeing what is going on. Our faith is shaped by a consciousness out outside forces. We just need to be open to these forces. These forces will then become the substance of things hoped for.

eveil.jpg

Evil is more difficult to describe. Evil, to me, takes away your focus or makes you doubt your faith. (Faith in anything not just God) Evil is the great deceiver. The one who lets you believe in falseness. Evil is a abusive partner that promises to change. Evil is the fear that comes from watching the news. Evil is a force unto itself. It is intelligent and comes in the quiet to trick and drag your hope away. There is a lot of evil around these days, or at least it seems. We must stay strong to our faith and continue to practice kindness and hospitality. Only then can we over come Evil.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

7 thoughts on “Better Definitions”

      1. Well you can always venture out. I moved away without telling anyone when I was 20. On a whim. It was a very good experience. Feel free to bounce ideas off me. I have tour groups and other travel ideas all the time. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

