Memorizing Happiness

sunrise.jpg

I have found that memorizing verses, poems, ditties, etc. helps me keep peace of mind. Anytime that my mind starts to wobble and spin out of control the effort to focus and recite helps to center me. It doesn’t matter what kind of things you memorize. It could be a passage from Harry Potter or your horoscope. I feel that it is good mind exercise and helps promote healthy brain function. Plus you might be able to wow your friends at parties when you can pull a cool quote out of your hat.

I have been working on memorizing Psalms 19. The. Whole. Chapter. I know it’s only like 15 verses. I envy the people who have memorized the whole Qur’an. I will never be that good. I have been practicing for the last two weeks but only when I am at work in between talking to clients. It is very slow at work pre-winter. I know it will be slower once winter actually arrives. I have found that giving my mind something to work on keeps the depression of idleness away. Today I only have about 3 more lines to go. I love the feel of accomplishment. This will bring me to about 10 passages, poems, etc. that I have stored away.

They come in handy when you are at a loss. When life is weighing heavy or you mind cannot say happy. I recite these in my head and it brings me back from the brink. It also helps when you get angry and are about to have a melt down. I have also found that the more I think about what I am reciting that the meanings become more detailed and I understand more of what the author was trying to portray. Or maybe I am just finding my own meaning out of it. Regardless, I am growing and ultimately that is the most important thing. I will attach Psalms 19 for your reading pleasure. The reason this is one of my favorites is all the science in it. I have had a hard time seeing God’s wisdom in man. However, I can fully see an intelligent, divine creator in plant and animal life. I mean what else but an intelligent being could build a tree in a way that can push water to the crown leaf? Against gravity? At least this is how I see it.

tree.jpg
Angel Oak. South Carolina

 

 

Psalms 19

The heavens declare the glory of God; And the firmament shows His handiwork. Day unto day utters speech, And night unto night reveals knowledge. There is no speech nor language Where their voice is not heard. Their line has gone out through all the earth, And their words to the end of the world.

In them He has set a tabernacle for the sun, Which is like a bridegroom coming out of his chamber, And rejoices like a strong man to run its race. Its rising is from one end of heaven, And its circuit to the other end; And there is nothing hidden from its heat.

The law of the Lord is perfect, converting the soul; The testimony of the Lord is sure, making wise the simple; The statutes of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart; The commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes; The fear of the Lord is clean, enduring forever; The judgments of the Lord are true and righteous altogether. 10 More to be desired are they than gold, Yea, than much fine gold; Sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb. 11 Moreover by them Your servant is warned, And in keeping them there is great reward.

12 Who can understand his errors? Cleanse me from secret faults. 13 Keep back Your servant also from presumptuous sins; Let them not have dominion over me. Then I shall be blameless, And I shall be innocent of great transgression.

14 Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart Be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

