So close but no cigar

doc.jpg

Well I almost made it a whole year without an Emergency Room visit. So close. The other day I woke up slightly hung over with a pounding head. Now that is to be expected when you mix everything you have in the house and drink it. Normally I end up with a unhappy stomach and can manage to give it something greasy and get on with my day. However, this was not the case. I probably threw up 3 times before I had enough sense to get food in me. Well that lasted only a couple hours before I was worshiping my porcelain god again. I could almost set a clock as I was vomiting every 45 minutes. My head throbbed with unstoppable pain but only on the left side. I felt there was a gremlin stabbing me in the head with an ice pick. In my state I knew this was something I had before but couldn’t recall what these symptoms pointed toward.  I tried as I could to manage but without a cooperating stomach I couldn’t get pain killers in. So I drove myself ER. Told the lady I would like to see a doctor. She was the slowest person ever. If you haven’t seen Zootopia then you need to watch it. The DMV sloth was this lady’s spirit creature.  It was like she typed one letter at a time while looking at her fingers. Then looking up backspaced to fix her error several words previous. I was not impressed. I handed her my driver’s license and medical card and asked for a bathroom to go vomit in. Needless to say, I was quickly shown a room as soon as I returned. The nurse might had been the original nurse when the clinic opened. She was odd, like peeling wallpaper with plaster underneath.  She asked me about my pain and symptoms. I told her I had been sick all day unable to keep anything in my trampoline stomach. She didn’t not to even make comments to my poor jokes. She asked me if I was normally pale. I said that my mom always said I was white but she didn’t see the weirdness in her question.  I always wondered about why my father made jokes when he was ill and I was getting him checked into the hospitals. He went in about once a year with respiratory issues. I now realize when you feel like there is a troll on your head beating you with a stick you can’t do anything but joke. It is the only sane thing to do. The nurse missed the vein the first time. Switched sides of the bed to try on my other hand. Of course, she forgot all her supplies on the other side of the bed. So leaned over me to grab her stuff pinning my IVed hand under her breasts. Well at least forgot about my head for about 10 seconds. The doctor came in for a few minutes asked me 3 questions that were all repeats of what I had been asked before and said he would give me some antibiotics for an ear infection. I asked for pain killers. “Oh yeah, I’ll see what we have.” I wanted to say this is a hospital you better have the good shit but I didn’t. I just laid there. The first set of pain killers didn’t even touch it but about an hour later I was well medicated and much more relaxed; almost a blissful glazed eyed happiness. My roommate had an amused look on her face now that roles were reversed. I was discharged and showed to a vending machine what vended drugs. That I have to say was the coolest thing ever!! Why don’t more places have drug vending machines. Perhaps I was overly excited in my loopy state but come on its pretty cool. Twenty four hours later I am at work. Slightly weak kneed and tired but managing. I could have called in but decided that I could drift through the day and use my sick leave at a better time. Like when I have better things to do then work. 🙂 Hopefully you had a better weekend. And just remember if you ever feel bad but aren’t in a hospital you are doing just fine!

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

