Book Reviews: December

Books.jpg

So I will start reviewing some of the books I read. Perhaps through me you can find a new place to escape to even if its only for a few hours.  Of course, because I will have to finish the book all my reviews will be one month behind.  Please suggest books too. I never can find enough.

Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clark: Written in 1973 I listened to it on audiobook with a horrible narrator.  There has to be something said for a story if it can be told through a monotone storyteller and still be enrapturing. Set in our future the people of Earth have found what turns out to be a cylindrical alien starship. A team is dispatched to the starship to identify any alien races or technologies.

This story is truly a work of art. To be able to describe something that is completely non-human from a totally human life is talent. I was enthralled the entire story.

Hyperion by Dan Simmons: Written 1989 this award winning book is a must read or in my case listen. Thankfully this narrator knew his business and was able to tell this story in the way it was intended. The story of Hyperion is really a pilgrimage and told from the view point of 6 pilgrims.  Each person’s reason and background for taking the trip is literally worlds apart. However, they all fit together with clues to why they have been called to the planet Hyperion.

I have to give a writer props if the is able to split himself into so many pieces to complete such a fantastic tale. The character are deep and well devolved. If you are a SciFi fan this is a great book but be warned you will have to read the rest of the series.

Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman: Published in 2014, I found this book through another blogger’s review. I have to say it was not a let down and I finished the book in only two days. The reading is very easy and while I wont say its a teen’s book I think most anyone could read it.

Irene is a Librarian. Her job is to find books…in other universes and multiverse. For someone who isn’t up to the science of multiverse this book does a good job of giving you the information to move along with the story. You follow Irene in her struggle to get just one book. You learn about her past and her peers. You also get to play detective along the way. Great easy read just know there are more in then just this story. You will probably be reading the next few in the series too.

Nightblade by Garrett Robinson: I was offered this book in free kindle format. I must of gotten 15 emails asking if I liked it before I got a chance to read it. However, once I started reading I was hooked. This is a fast-paced, action-packed story that leaves you breathless is great for all ages.

The story is about a young girl who runs away to find better fortunes elsewhere. She becomes entangled in a web of adventure from the word GO. Her first acquaintance leaves her in the middle of the night and her next acquaintance tries to kill her. With enemies closing in things look dark but our heroine finds a way to freedom an learns a little more about the world too.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

