Book Reviews: January

books

I try to get a good combination of all genres. I tend to lean towards fantasy but anything is worth trying. I have a great start to the year with these books. I have another 8 sitting on my nightstand and some dozens in my Amazon wish list.

Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: A wonderful Doyle classic that I have on audio. I listen to this on my way to and from work. It is a great distraction for any commuter. I was very excited to learn this was the story of when Sherlock and Watson meet. It was so wonderful to see the devolvement of their relationship. As always, Doyle writes in a most detailed manner like he was actually at the crime scene.

Beyond the Ice Limit by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child: By far one of my favorite set of authors. I have read everything they have published. Their main series, the Pendergast Series, is beyond a work of genius. Their individual side stories are equally engaging and riveting. The Gideon Series is no less amazing. If you have never read in your life or are looking for something new look no farther then Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child.

Song of the Beast by Carol Berg: This book I found in a library sale for .99. So glad I grabbed it because I think I have found another author to follow. The story isn’t for the light of heart. Our main character was just released from a torture camp after 17 year. All for a crime he didn’t know he committed. Berg does a wonderful job keeping you on the edge of your seat as you see what Aiden finds out about his prison sentence. Great stand alone story but you will want to read Bergs other series.

Jackaby by William Ritter: This book was suggested on another blog I read. I have to admit I was very impressed with this story. The cover says its Sherlock Holmes meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer. Not far from the truth. Great fun little story set in the 1800s. It was a fun book to read. There are more in the series and I might just have to read them.

 

Other Books I read:

The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss

From Russia with Love by Ian Flemming

Dragon Revenant (book 4) by Katharine Kerr

 

 

 

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

