Sunday Meditations

orion-nebula

Bring your proof if you are truthful. ( Qur’an 2:111) 

I came across this quote from the Qur’an. I truly feel that many times we are presented a “truth” but no proof. Today we are bombarded with many false or (as it is now being called) “alternative truths.” Technology today makes it so easy to put information out that you have no supporting evidence for. You might see something from one angle and if you were to move 180* you would see a completely different picture. We should all keep this in mind when we are presenting things we believe are True.

I could understand that if I were to present a Truth and then be asked to prove that truth it might be upsetting. However, it is understandable to want supporting evidence. It doesn’t mean that you are wrong or I think you are a liar, only that I want more information.  We should all seek more information for the things we see and hear. Not only for complete understanding of the situation but also for our own personal growth. We should also not shoot someone down because they bring a painful or difficult truth. Life is not easy and many times it is easier to bury our heads then to face the evidence in front of us.  The ability to listen and understand another’s point of view, regardless of your own opinions, is a true sign of respect. Truly, that is the apex of maturity.

Another sign of maturity is the ability to change what I hold to be true. If we are presented with a truth, with good supporting evidence, that is in conflict with what we thought was true we have to change. To stand stubborn in the face of fact is plain silliness. To grow we have to accept new, and often scary truths otherwise we stay children forever. Keep this in mind as you go into your worlds and are faced with new and amazing TRUTHS.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

