No Good Deed…

So for quiet some time I have been looking to find a cheap, possibly used, cabinet or vanity for a project. Well just the other day, I found one! Brand, spanking new at our local chain hardware store. That is probably the only happy moment I have had regarding this whole project.

cat box.jpg
Internet Project Idea

I saw an awesome up-cycled vanity that was made into a discreet place to put a cat litter box.  I thought it was an awesome idea and should be easily managed. How wrong I was. I have been watching our local sell and swap place for the last year always coming to an ad too late. Finally, on the verge of giving up, I was looking at our hardware store’s website and saw one on sale. YAY!!! I quickly made the order online and was very pleased with myself for such a good find.

The next day I went to the store to pick up the item. I was given a slip to go into the “yard” and their crew would load it in my truck. I went where I was told and waited while the guy walked up and down the row of boxes looking for my cabinet. After about 10 minutes I began to wonder if they misplaced it. Talking to the guy, I suggested that I would finish my other errands and come back in about 30mins. This would give him time to find it and me time to finish my shopping in town. Well 30 minutes went by and I returned expecting they would have found it, only to find out that they didn’t have it. I went to the manager suggesting they order me what I purchased and I would be satisfied to wait the shipping time. I was informed that it was a discontinued item and they couldn’t order it and they didn’t ship store to store. Slowly losing my temper I told the manager that they shouldn’t have something on the website they really don’t have or could get me. I also was willing to compromise and take an alternative item for the same price. Scoffing the manger said there was nothing he could do for that price range. He then insinuated that it was my wrong doing to order on the website instead of coming in the store. Before I started screaming at the man I walk away and demanded my money back from the  front cashier and left the store.

cat cab.jpg
My Project displayed by Raleigh

Disappointed and frustrated I went home thinking to scrap the whole idea and just be satisfied with the cat litter arrangement I have now. Slowly drowning my sorrows, my ministrations were interrupted by my ringing phone. It was none other then the accusing manager saying they found my cabinet and he would hold it for me. Surprised to say the least, I made arrangements to go back to town to retrieve the cabinet. Upon arriving at the store I spoke with the cashier to re-purchase the vanity. She said that she couldn’t sell it to me because they were out of stock. I explained the manager just called me to confirm they have it and were holding it. Confused she floundered around her desk for a bit and then finally called the manager and got confirmation to bill me. Taking my pick-up slip to the back gate, I gave my order slip to a large gentleman who moved at the speed of molasses. I asked if I could have assistance loading my cabinet. His exact words were, “I don’t know.” Telling myself that jail isn’t worth it. I proceeded onto the back lot to find some who did know. I was directed to the correct door and asked the young man there to assist me in putting it in my truck. Finally, loaded with my prize I went back to the gate to be checked out. The large, molasses gentlemen said, again I quote, “I heard you on the radio!” I was dumbfounded. Did they know? (Woman Kills Hardware Store Gate Guard.) I took my purchase slip and departed before it came true.

The cabinet is in the house finally and i am working on a making a top. (It is a bathroom vanity without a sink top.) It’s not exactly what I had envisioned, as most visions are skewed. However, I think it will work and really I have only put about $50 in to it. All in all an easy project despite headache at the store.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

