Sunday Meditations

orion-nebula

…Whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.                                                 Philippians 4:8

The other day I was reading a medical article that stated if you focus on the bad things you can affect your immune system. The things that depress or stress you out are not only hurting your mental health but also your physical health. This verse came to mind after reading that article. I know there are many times I let myself focus on things that drag me down. I am sure we all fall into that rut.

Our lives are full of ugly things and if that is all we focus on that is all we will see. There will be no green trees or blue skies when all we are looking at is bad roads and dirty cars. My view over the cluttered office and through the dirty windows is of an abandoned industrial plant. However, between myself and the plant is a river. Just sometimes, early in the morning when the wind is calm and the sun is barely rising, the river water is the most beautiful thing. Shimmering red with sun rise and, if you are lucky, a Bald Eagle calling out, makes it worth coming to work.

Keep the true, honest, pure, lovely things in your heart this week as you go through your unseemly, cluttered, stressful way. Think on these things and find a small seed of joy in your life.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

