Book Reviews: March

books

Standing at 16 books so far this year. I know that the two Outlander books slowed me down. It is so nice to be lost in books again.

At the Back of the North Wind by George MacDonald: This is a classic fairytale book written in the late 1800s about a young boy who is taken on an adventure by the North Wind. This would be a perfect book to read to your child as a bed time story. The chapters aren’t very long and the imagery is fantastic. Also there are many good lessons about life the story touches upon. Fairness, adventure, honor, etc.

Philo Vance Cases by S.S. Van Dine: I think my mom summed up this book the best, “It’s written in black and white.” She was meaning they are like black and white movies, which we both love. It is written with class and flare. The language is beautiful and the scenes wonderfully painted. If you want something enjoyable and fun to read any of the cases are the way to go.

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon: I don’t tend to read the second in a series only because I normally don’t have the second one on hand and move onto something else. Well I decided to read the second one. It has somewhat ruined the fantasy I had in my mind but at least the story continues. Also this book seems to be a little more disjointed. I have had to go back a few times an reread a paragraph. Altogether, I am enjoying the second installment and even started watching the TV Show.

 

Other Reading

Eragon by Christopher Paolini

Childhood’s End by Arthur C. Clark

 

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I never know what to put in this spot. I turned 30 this last year (2015) and moved three times. I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keep me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that sometimes tell me that I do ok as a pet momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a Reply

