World Travels: Palma, Spain

I have returned from my travels to Palma de Mallorca and Barcelona, Spain. It was a wonderful trip away from the hustle and bustle of work and life. I flew out on the US Thanksgiving Day. I expected huge lines but really there wasn’t anyone on the roads or in the airport.

I flew Norwegian Air again. I have to say if you have access to this airline you should really use it. It is a great, inexpensive way to travel. The total round trip price, with upgrade, was $600.  The upgrade included free checked bags, free meals, and free seat choice. I could have traveled for $400 if I hadn’t upgraded. However, it was very convenient that all that I needed was included in the price. Perhaps, next time I wont upgrade and just bring food with me and pay the $75 to check my bag. We will have to see about where I go next.

I spent a 5 hour layover in London/Gatwick. I have an old travel companion that I was able to spent some time catching up with over breakfast. It was lovely, though I was quiet tired and probably wasn’t the best conversationalist. My final flight got me into Palma airport in the early evening and I was able to find the correct bus line easily.

Palma is a lovely island with a lot of history. I enjoyed walking down the narrow alleyways and sitting drinking my tea on sidewalk cafes. The cathedral is probably the most magnificent building I have seen so far. It is beautiful. Huge gothic winged arches and pillars larger then trees holding up the massive ceiling. I also spent time at the Arab Baths, which really is nothing but a sign and a roof. I went to the beach and the aquarium. I even took a bus across the island to the Cave Drach. Here I took a short boat ride inside the cave. Super exciting.

I stayed at an AirBnB. It was in a fantastic location and easy walking distance to everything. My room was clean and secure. I felt very safe in the neighborhood. The only down side was the host smoked marijuana, a lot. Now I really don’t care if you smoke but when I have to go through a haze to get to my room it isn’t pleasant and brought the enjoyment level down a bit.

Author: StarOfGrace

Hello, how are you? I had just turned 30 when I started this blog in 2015. That was a busy year for me. I had moved three times that year. I needed a place to share about my life and experiences. I hope that we have some things in common. Such as, I enjoy moving and normally do so every 3-5 years; sometimes less. I love to travel, read, be outdoors, watch movies, cooking, drinking, meeting new people. I am always up for a new adventure. I work in Law Enforcement and it keeps me very busy. I have two wonderful cats that tell me that I do OK as a pet Momma. If you are curious about anything just ask! Thank you Ester

Leave a comment